Skulltag Archive

Hosted by Dark-Assassin

The default theme was not avalible in the backup, sorry.
View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Sat Sep 26, 2020 10:02 pm

Forum rules


Name your topics well! "Help me!" won't attract a person with a solution as well as "DMFlags under Linux server" will.



Reply to topic  [ 24 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
network_getpackets error # 10022 
Author Message

Joined: Wed Dec 31, 1969 6:00 pm
Posts: 78
Location: Sunshine Coast, Australia
Reply with quote
The startup console window has some more detailed message in green, but I don't know how to capture the output.
(Seriously, how do I do that?) Something about a network socket.

When the game has loaded, it keeps filling the message buffer with the following:

network_getpackets: warning!: error # 10022: unknown error

I found one other post regarding this, but that was on a different forum, and the issue was unresolved.

Thanks for your attention. :|


Sat Apr 09, 2011 10:08 pm
Profile YIM
Lead Developer

Joined: Wed Dec 31, 1969 6:00 pm
Posts: 6037
Location: USA
Reply with quote


Sun Apr 10, 2011 6:23 am
Profile ICQ

Joined: Wed Dec 31, 1969 6:00 pm
Posts: 78
Location: Sunshine Coast, Australia
Reply with quote
Thanks for your reply. :-)

From the log:

[19:56:06] Initializing network subsystem.
[19:56:06] Winsock initialization succeeded!
[19:56:06] network_BindSocketToPort: Couldn't bind LAN socket to port: 15101. You will not be able to see LAN servers in the browser.
[19:56:06] IP address 192.168.0.3:10667

Attached is the full* log, as well as my .ini file.

Do I need to delete and re-create my network connections? I'm using Windows XP.

*except I cut off all those identical "10022" lines at the end.


Sun Apr 17, 2011 4:09 am
Profile YIM
Lead Developer

Joined: Wed Dec 31, 1969 6:00 pm
Posts: 6037
Location: USA
Reply with quote
Is any tool already using port 15101 on your machine?


Sun Apr 17, 2011 5:29 am
Profile ICQ

Joined: Wed Dec 31, 1969 6:00 pm
Posts: 78
Location: Sunshine Coast, Australia
Reply with quote
cmd.exe
netstat -n
port 15101 does not show up in the list

I would say that means no.

Additional information:
On my router, I have created a service called "Skulltag" with UDP port 10666 - 10667 forwarded to 192.168.0.2 (a netbook running the Skulltag server). My desktop (=Skulltag client) has local IP 192.168.0.3. Both the netbook/server and the desktop/client have static IPs. I checked this over and over, those settings have not changed.

Somewhere along the line my ADSL connection reached data cap, and I plugged a USB modem into my machine when I wanted faster access.

I tried deleting the skulltag .ini file, but it makes no difference. Perhaps I should delete the Skulltag exception from Windows firewall rule and let it re-create it?


Sun Apr 17, 2011 11:19 pm
Profile YIM
Lead Developer

Joined: Wed Dec 31, 1969 6:00 pm
Posts: 6037
Location: USA
Reply with quote


Mon Apr 18, 2011 5:59 am
Profile ICQ

Joined: Wed Dec 31, 1969 6:00 pm
Posts: 78
Location: Sunshine Coast, Australia
Reply with quote


Mon Apr 18, 2011 11:45 am
Profile YIM
Lead Developer

Joined: Wed Dec 31, 1969 6:00 pm
Posts: 6037
Location: USA
Reply with quote


Mon Apr 18, 2011 5:12 pm
Profile ICQ

Joined: Wed Dec 31, 1969 6:00 pm
Posts: 78
Location: Sunshine Coast, Australia
Reply with quote
I have tested it, and yes, that works.

Your version doesn't have the message flood, still has the same error message, though -- however, when I try to connect to my .98D-r3021 server, it complains that they are different versions. So I can't play.

I could run the 98E version as a server... but then only those with that version would be able to play on my server. I think of .98D-r3021 as the most recent stable, non-dev build ("the current alpha"?) that most players download and play with. (Looking at the list of servers in IDE, I can't see any other version.)

P.S.: It's great you are working on the next release! Is there a roadmap to Skulltag 1.0?


Mon Apr 18, 2011 11:34 pm
Profile YIM

Joined: Wed Dec 31, 1969 6:00 pm
Posts: 78
Location: Sunshine Coast, Australia
Reply with quote


Wed Apr 20, 2011 4:59 am
Profile YIM

Joined: Wed Dec 31, 1969 6:00 pm
Posts: 78
Location: Sunshine Coast, Australia
Reply with quote
I figured out the problem: It was IDE all along. :o

I read up on winsocket errors, tried the WinSock XP Fix.exe, command line stuff to reset the TCP/IP stack etc., to no avail: Despite IDE reliably working in the past, it will now prevent Skulltag from binding to LAN port 15101. Mysterious!

Shame, I had gotten used to the user interface, but no matter, I'll use DoomSeeker from now on... I don't play ZDaemon or Odamex anyway, can't stomach software mode.

Thanks for your help. :-)

I'm very happy I can play Skulltag again... just had a round on my enhanced Stronghold server, and had my ass handed to me! :P


Wed Apr 20, 2011 6:40 am
Profile YIM
Lead Developer

Joined: Wed Dec 31, 1969 6:00 pm
Posts: 6037
Location: USA
Reply with quote


Wed Apr 20, 2011 7:11 pm
Profile ICQ
Developer

Joined: Wed Dec 31, 1969 6:00 pm
Posts: 136
Location: Russia
Reply with quote
well, imho this is problem of skulltag then ide - ide definitely use port 15101 to look for skulltag LAN servers, but not exclusively.
skulltag should (and as i see in public source - it does) use 'reuseaddr' socket parameter to use this port together with other programs.
for some reasons it cant do it (as i understood from error report here).
btw, why client use this lan port at all? for internal browser?


Thu Apr 21, 2011 12:08 am
Profile WWW
Lead Developer

Joined: Wed Dec 31, 1969 6:00 pm
Posts: 6037
Location: USA
Reply with quote


Thu Apr 21, 2011 5:55 am
Profile ICQ
Developer

Joined: Wed Dec 31, 1969 6:00 pm
Posts: 136
Location: Russia
Reply with quote


Thu Apr 21, 2011 6:50 am
Profile WWW
Lead Developer

Joined: Wed Dec 31, 1969 6:00 pm
Posts: 6037
Location: USA
Reply with quote
Good idea. marco75, can you check if fixes the "Couldn't bind LAN socket to port" error?


Thu Apr 21, 2011 7:11 pm
Profile ICQ

Joined: Wed Dec 31, 1969 6:00 pm
Posts: 78
Location: Sunshine Coast, Australia
Reply with quote


Fri Apr 22, 2011 3:57 am
Profile YIM
Developer

Joined: Wed Dec 31, 1969 6:00 pm
Posts: 136
Location: Russia
Reply with quote
can you try this test
unzip somewhere and run 'runme.bat'
it will start two programs - one will send (broadcast) packets, using port 15300
second should receive these packets if all is ok
(dont run ide at this time)


Fri Apr 22, 2011 5:52 am
Profile WWW

Joined: Wed Dec 31, 1969 6:00 pm
Posts: 78
Location: Sunshine Coast, Australia
Reply with quote
@bond

sender.exe output
Sending <000012e0: packet #>

receiver.exe output
received from 192.168.0.3: <000012e0: packet #>

About 4 packets per second.


Fri Apr 22, 2011 8:17 pm
Profile YIM
Developer

Joined: Wed Dec 31, 1969 6:00 pm
Posts: 136
Location: Russia
Reply with quote
aha, so reuseaddr work ok there - both programs use UDP port 15300
lets try one more test (again, without ide):
1. open cmd, goto skulltag folder and start lan server with command:
skulltag.exe -host +sv_broadcast 1
2. then start skulltag (as client) and look at logfile - will it init lansocket?

ah, and one more thing - previous test with sender/receiver, but now with ide running and zdaemon enabled in it


Sat Apr 23, 2011 11:59 am
Profile WWW
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 24 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
Designed by ST Software.